A Liebster Award !!!

Friends, YaY !!!

So, back in June the lovely Threading Lightly nominated me for a Liebster Award, thanks!! 😀 Naturally (because I am master of procrastination) it took me months to actually do this.

But here we are! and I was actually planning to do it this entire time, so YaY !

The Liebster Award I had never heard of before, basically it’s a good way for new bloggers to get noticed and answer questions about themselves and who doesn’t like to talk about themselves, huh?!

 

:

1. Was there a defining moment that got you into sewing?

Hmm.. this is an interesting one! Had to think back far haha… so, my sister is 10 years and 2 days older than me, so when she started sewing at 21 (I think it was when she got her first sewing machine), I got inspired ..and of course everyone wants to be like their older sis or bro. I started seeing things that she had made and I WANTED THEM.. So I started doing sewing at school and it carried on to after school.. I didn’t get fully into it until this year when I moved up to Wellington and started hanging around all the sewing bloggers (you guys are awesome !).

 

2. What has inspired your blog style?

To be honest, don’t think I have a blog style, I just type how I talk. Or at least I type as I say things in my head, so you guys are getting a front-line view of my mind, enjoy it 😀

Although.. in saying that, I don’t add in all the mass loads of tangents.. except maybe sometimes you get a few of them… :-/

 

3. At the fabric store, do you usually know what you are buying or do you like to browse?

I used to browse, this is a mistake, a big BIG mistake where I end up with negative money and too much fabric that doesn’t fit in my flat.. Now I tend to know what I need when I go in.. unless it’s the remnants bin, REMNANTS FOR THE WIN AWWW YEAH!

I have managed to find things in those remnant bins to make so many creations, whoop whoop! Bellatrix Blazer being one of them, that was probably one of the happiest days of my life.

 

4. What was your biggest sewing mistake?

Ah.. sewing my coppelia cardi, seriously screwed that one up. The sleeves to the front when it was supposed to go on the back and also they were the wrong way around and I attached them to the bottom of the front piece instead of where they were supposed to go and then I probably managed to attach the front to the feet or something ya know, that’s how screwed up it was. This is why markings are AMAZING.

 

5. How much fabric is in your stash?

I have about 6 boxes of fabric and a bin of remnants/miscellaneous stuff.

 

6. What is your next sewing project?

I have a a Sylphide blouse cut out and ready to go (for the past few months) for the Monochrome month on TMS in July. The fabric is cotton poplin with birds on it.. well most of it is, I ran out so had to use some poplin black with white polkadots, so it might turn out to be too much and then I don’t know if I’ll be able to stand it!

I also have a Seamster mens hoodie which I started in August for my friends birthday.. in August.

And my Reglisse dress from October.

And I have a Papercut Circle Top cut out too..

Hmm.. maybe I should finish some things first yeah?

 

7. Which item from your bought wardrobe would you most like to be able to replicate?

Definitely my big blue jacket with hood. It’s lined. It’s blue. It’s big. It’s got a hood. It’s cozy. It’s flattering. It’s now slightly too big.

Good thing is, Juliet told me about the Pavot at Deer and Doe that I can make which is a real nice pattern (she has made one also, though I don’t think it’s posted yet). I even found the best wool blend fabric for it at the Fabric Warehouse pop up sale and some lining with DRAGONFLIES all over it at Spotlight. This jacket isn’t lined. But it WILL BE and it must have a hood also.

Pavot Jacket – Deer and Doe

 

 

8. What is your favorite sewing-related gadget?

This is a hard one. I definitely like Lucy, she makes me so happy.. However, my rotary cutter (since being introduced to them at the start of the year) has saved much rage and heartbreak as I’m sure my scissors would have caused at cutting out fabric.

Pincushion

Lucy

 

9. What is your favorite place you have traveled to?

Amsterdam.

I lived in London when I was 20 for a good year and on my 21st I went to Amsterdam with a few friends. It is gorgeous over there and everyone is so lovely. I originally thought my favourite place was Venice but then I went there and omg it smells and there are SO many tourists EVERYWHERE. Amsterdam definitely has a better vibe, and canals!

 

10. What other hobbies/activities do you enjoy besides sewing?

I also knit (as of earlier this year) and crochet which I taught myself a few years ago.

I like to hula hoop when I have the time and energy and feel like I should get away from the inside world. Thing is, the inside world has my sewing machines SEWING MACHINES, PEOPLE!!! You understand…

I also like Friday drinks with friends and organising and planning things but not actually doing the things that I’m planning – Procrastination 101.

 

So I’m supposed to nominate people now, which is also a reason why I left this post for.. ya know.. half a year.. I actually have no idea who to nominate who hasn’t done this already (awkward)………..

One comment

Leave a Reply

