2014 Summed up

I’m writing this post just to reflect on what I’ve made through the year and what I like and dislike and so on and so forth. It might not be very interesting but it’s more for me than for you! 😀

I’ve been sewing since high school but I haven’t really been making much.. if that makes sense. I did lots of applique type stuff and just pissing about mostly. 2014 was when I really started sewing for myself and of course when I started knitting.

After making all these things for myself and wearing some of them and not others.. I think I’ve figured out what I need and more importantly, what I want.

I LOVE CROCHET. Especially little toy animal amuragami things. I have made a few for the 2014 Christmas secret santas too, including a turtle for a tree decoration and a dinosaur for a workmate – so much fun and they are so cute!

IMAG0728

Crocheting is definitely a keep.

IMAG0540

Knitting – ALSO so good to be able to wear stuff that I’ve made – love it! But have to be more careful about my tension and length so they don’t turn out like my tiny little Hetty cardi.

Hetty front 2

Main thing I learned about wearing knitted/warm garments is that I need them to be long sleeved or I probably won’t wear them. Goodbye Hetty!

However, my Marion can stay (post coming soon).

Now for the sewing stuff. I learned a lot about what dresses I will wear. Mainly because I would much rather wear jeans.

My favourite dress is my Alameda by Pauline Alice. It is super comfy, the perfect length and has pockets, POCKETS !!! A bit gapey in the arm holes but I can live with that. It’s also a nice neutral colour without too much crazy pattern happening.

pockets front dress

Ah.. patterns. I love patterned fabric. It’s the stuff I’m most attracted to in the store and I just beeline straight for it. I don’t like wearing it though. It’s too much. Or maybe it’s just my pattern choices.. hmm..

I really like my Bluet as well. I don’t wear it as much though because the pattern just puts me off (although I LOVE the pattern – is so pretty yo!) and the puffy sleeves made me angry. I changed the sleeves to be flat and took off the pink binding on them and now I wear it way more.

Puffy sleeves = NO!

jumping goat

Oh.. my coffee dress. I actually hate you. Not my style at all. the skirt is too straight. The arms are WAY too tight. Although it is a perfect length.

front_3

My cherries dress is awesome, way too short though and possibly too tight. Way too tight around the arms as well so I don’t generally wear it much unfortunately, especially cause I put A LOT of work into this one.

Front in sun

JUNE!

I made so many things in June, I went crazy.

I’m not gonna picture these though cause this is getting REALLY long.

Basically I love my Lady Skater (except that it gives me electric shocks when I touch metal, sigh). Ah.. plain colours are so good.

I didn’t like the Tiramisu because too long – but then I cut it shorter (just above the knee) and wear it all the time!

La Sylphide – such a pretty pattern and material but WAAAAY too short so I have only actually worn it once.. hmm…

And my Bellatrix Blazer is too tight and I don’t wear it, sigh, I was so proud of that one too.

Front2

My Reglisse!!!

I actually do love it. But I haven’t worn it yet (except to the halloween party I made it for) because I haven’t finished it yet (such a slacker!). I will probably make it shorter as well and I need to fix the elastic because it’s a little bit bigger than the waist band it fits into (my bad!)

eeeeeeee, that’s all my dresses!!

Skirts.. I don’t wear much.. so I probably won’t make many more of those. Although I LOVE my Petal, I currently do not have any tops that go with it.. *sigh*

My Ensis tee’s I love and my Coppelia Cardi is amazing. I love these. I need more. MORE !

What I find most I wear out of my wardrobe are my Ensis Tee’s, jeans and cardi’s.

I need to make jeans, JEANS !

All up:

Warm garments must have long sleeves. (Knitted cardigans)

Puffy sleeves are not good. (Bluet)

Sleeves must not be tight. (Coffee dress and Cherries dress)

Straight skirts are not good. (Coffee dress)

Skirt length should be just above the knees. (All dresses)

Plain colours are VERY good (Lady Skater)

MAKE JEANS and more t-shirts!

2 comments

  1. This was a great post – So so useful in thinking about which patterns I’d like to make up this year. A lot of blogs (myself included) tend to focus on their makes and not what worked for them or not and why. The whys you gave were so very useful. I have the coppelia and definitely need to make up now (after the Jenna, Gillian and a self drafted pencil skirt). Oophs I may have just bitten off more than I can chew…

    1. I’m glad it helped you! It helped me heaps too.. I love all the things I made, but not all for myself unfortunately *sigh*
      You and me both girl, I got so much stuff to do, it’s ridiculous!

Leave a Reply

