Alice in Reglisse

So this Halloween my man and I decided to go as Alice in Wonderland and the Mad Hatter. What better dress to make than the Deer and Doe Reglisse?!

eeeeeeeeeee it’s SO cute right?!

front skirt

I didn’t want a plain blue dress and I found this gingham at the Fabric-a-Brac a couple of weeks ago in Wellington – total WIN!

Oh, and of course the pale blue contrast cause pure gingham was gonna be WAAAY too much.

Side

I may have also not finished the hem (pictures were taken on 31st October) and wore it to the party like this. Dress is currently still not finished.

I also have trouble with the elastic twisting and folding inside the waistband. Usually when I use elastic I make a line of stay-stitching type stuff (I don’t know what this is called..) down the length of the elastic (stretched out obviously) so that it doesn’t twist but I got lazy, SO LAZY!

 Front2

Did I mention that this amazing dress has a neck tie?! So good!

Neck tie, cap sleeves and elastic waistband, can’t go wrong right?

Front bodice

I made size 42 and it fits really well. Could have possibly used less elastic but my shoulders are SO much wider than my waist that I wouldn’t have been able to get it past them – awkward.

Also have some sun spots on these photos – my bad. It was a really sunny day.

Back

Full circle skirt – look at all the fabric! I added some to the bottom to balance out the top and cause it would have uber short.. Starting to get a little self-conscience about the short skirts especially at work.. hmm old age perhaps?

front

All of the blue.

Front with Apron 2

To make it more Alice in Wonderland like I made a matching apron with little pockets, awwwwmygawwwd pockets, BOOM!

Front with apron

I didn’t have any bias binding and could not be bothered to make any (also don’t have a little gadgety thing). So the neckline has just been overlocked and pressed flat. A lot. It did not want to stay flat. Bias binding would have been good.

Back - collar

The gingham was SO see-through that I had to line it with something, luckily I was cutting the fabric out at my sister’s place who had some yellow poplin I could use, THANKS SIS!

It makes it look so cute!

 Inside

I love this dress, it is so awesomely cute.. however not my usual style so I don’t actually know if I will wear it again but it is super comfy so will definitely be making this pattern up again.

Teeheehee there’s a little shop toy of my nephew’s in the corner of the photo.

One comment

Leave a Reply

