Lacey Coppelia

back

Hello dear friends and welcome back!

This time, I have made the Coppelia Cardigan by Papercut.

I actually made this back in April or May, can’t remember which (oops), for the sew knits month. The blog post has been sitting on my to-do-list for AGES as in – the last saved draft (the pictures) are from the 22nd July, whoa. I made it up the same time I made my Ensis Tee’s.

ealing

Then I took it for a road trip from Dunedin to Wellington. On this day we were travelling from Oamaru to Kaikoura. The photos are taking just before Ashburton and in Ashburton next to (I think it’s the war memorial from memory). I actually got a couple toots while getting my photo taken there…

statue

Right, the top!

It was not fun to make.. but quite funny.. as in.. laugh at me.

  The sleeves are sewn to the shoulder area and then the sides are sewn from the wrist to the hem all the way in one.

I have never done sleeves like this before.. (well I’ve done lots now, but then I had NO IDEA what was doing on)

front statue

So you’ve got the 2 front pieces that cross over, the back piece and then 2 sleeves.

AND LACEY FABRIC, WHAT WAS I THINKING?!?!?!?!

I thought I was doing pretty well, ya know.. I had my back piece connected to my sleeves and my sleeves connected to the front pieces.

And then I lay it out.

front

I can’t remember exactly what was wrong with it, but basically the sleeves were BOTH sewn in wrong. The front pieces were the wrong way around and who even knows what was going on with the back piece.

Kat looked at it and just laughed. And laughed. And probably laughed some more. Fair enough too.

After I then cut all the seams out (luckily this fabric had lots of forgiveness), I then had to run to her to make sure I had pinned it correctly before each seam, YUSS I’m a child again!

But for reals, thanks Kat, you’re a star.

tree stump

Last thing about it was the stupid fabric. It’s so SO pretty but so SO annoying to sew with. Kept missing it in the overlocker (oh yeah, whole top made on the overlocker) and pins kept falling out and just general rage, ya know?

I was quite glad to be finished it, apart from that I can’t actually think of anything that annoyed me in that pattern. I know LOVE this way of putting in sleeves and it’s such a nice top of casual and formal, pffft formal. Ahem.

OH and when we were in Oamaru, we went into this really cool art shop/exhibition and I found Lucy. Lucy is awesome. Lucy is made by a 70 year old lady (told to me by the shop keeper) with what has to be a a very visual and crazy imagination..

Pincushion Polly

Yes.

Her nose is a boot.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

