I Scream for Cherries

After watching my sisters blog grow so large with some amazing dresses that she had been making, I decided I wanted to make one, however whenever I made a anything with a bodice it never fit quite right so I when I came across the Amazing Fit Simplicity 1606 I had to try it!

Simplicity Amazing Fit

So I finally finished it. It went on the back burner for a while when I was sewing to raise moneys to move to Wellington and when I got around to finally doing some more on it, the zip broke, just as I finished it and went to put it on the first time. AARRRRGGGHHHHH!!!

It was in the naughty corner for a while again after that. However, when I got another zip I stuck in and got it finished and I love it to pieces!

back - close up

(The hem is actually straight, I promise, please don’t judge me)

Back

Aww, who’s that over there?!

It’s Aunty Jen in her brand spanking pretty new Cherry Dress!

don't be!

This dress is actually quite straight forward to make (until the alterations, then it can get fiddly!

The bodice has princess seams and the skirt is just a front and 2 back pieces.

do I look pregnant?

I didn’t get any pictures of the alterations because I actually did them all last year, however I’ll try to relate what I can remember happened!

I had a lot of gaping at the front princess Seam by the armhole. I fixed this by unpicking a couple inches and then redoing the seam by making it more rounded.

I had to unpick that part because there was more excess fabric on one side of the seam than the other to make it sit flat.

Front in sun

I also graded it in more below the bust by rounding it in wards. A lot – it is a very close fit, maybe too close? My girls are quite defined, not sure if they need to be.

Front

Since I took the front princess seams in a bit near the armhole it made the armhole quite tight which I didn’t factor it. It’s not super tight, but just uncomfortable enough to annoy me.

The waist was also a bit low so I had to take it up, more so in the centre front area, by a cm or so (can’t really remember how much).

HELLO !

Of course some pictures got photo bombed since we had the little guy with us.

These photos were taken at the water tower above Newtown on such a beautiful day I’m surprised I didn’t turn into a lobster/tomato/something really red.

index

The dress looks really short. From what I remember I used the length of the pattern but my fabric wasn’t quite wide enough so it had shortened sides on the bottom and I cut the hem up to there. Probably a mistake? But hey, gets me more enthused to gym it!

I scream

The necklace. Isn’t is awesome?! I got it from Fortune and Blame jewellery which Mel’s fashionable younger sister’s (FYS) owns and create things. This piece is created out of resin and yes, it does have real 100s and 1000s candy in it, so if I get caught out in that zombie Apocalypse I will have something to munch on when times get a bit too dire.

It’s called the I Scream.

I vote go have a look, she has some very VERY cool things.

index

Look at my pretty new dress it’s amazing!

Yes, I may have said that last sentence is a VERY girly voice, enjoy.

pose

You can just see the little guy thinking:

“Dude… What ARE you doing???”

Suspicious much?

One comment

  1. Cherries, give me cherries! I love this, the shape looks great on you. I don’t think it’s too fitted, unless it feels uncomfortable.

    As for the wee dude, he obviously doesn’t appreciate the posing for photos. Strange with you and his Mum around, but hey!

Leave a Reply

