Double Lacey Ensis Goodness

ENSIS ENSIS ENSIS !!!!

April was sew double for The Monthly Stitch. This worked out nicely as I needed MORE t-shirts and was going on a road trip, EEEEE ROAD TRIP !!!

purple ensis palmerston

As you may know, I moved up from Dunedin to Wellington in January and well.. due to my lack of finances couldn’t move all of my stuff.. my precious precious stuff !! So I had to store it at the parentals (thanks parentals!), including my car. So over the Easter holidays/Anzac day and all the days in-between, I headed down to Dunedin with a friend to pick up my stuff, EEEEE MY PRECIOUS STUFF !!

purple ensis boulder love

Day 1 we drove from Dunedin to Oamaru and passed through Palmerston (which I had to take a picture with, just for you Juliet 😀

We also stopped at Moeraki Boulders. First we got tricked and went on the turnoff to Moeraki, but sneaky sneaky, they are in different places !! Anyways, after we walked along the beach in Moeraki (the village), around Moeraki (the village) for a while and then headed back to the highway to find the REAL Moeraki (the boulders), we finally hit success!

LOOK I CRUSHED ONE WITH MY HULK POWERS!!

Wow I’m strong.

purple ensis boulder destroy

After Moeraki (the boulders) we finally made it to Oamaru and went to the Steampunk museum, which was pretty cool.. there was quite a bit of stuff to look at. I don’t have many pictures because there is a large inside bit that is really dark, but there’s a little guy below there, we made friends.

There was also a skeleton driving a crane. Very cool.

hmmm

Back to the actual t-shirts though !!

I made 2 (obviously) and I had made one previously in February.

black ensis back

This time I changed it up a bit. I was thinking for a while about making something with lace on the top or just lace.. anywhere. Lace is GREAT. I did already have a t-shirt that I bought with stripes on the bottom and lace on top and it looks so pretty and it’s so comfy and cool since I overheat all the time so basically its FANTASTIC !

I don’t think I was ever going to get around to making them though, until I saw Sandra’s on on her blog which just looked so comfy and amazing I had to have my own. I HAD TO!

black ensis front

And now I do.

black ensis side

Win. And look below, I’M CLIMBING A TREE !!!

in a tree awesome

Right, t-shirt, yes, must stop getting distracted. So tired. Ugh.

This time around making these Ensis Tee’s I left the sleeves at the shorter option (Since they were a bit too tight around my guns *ahem* I mean arms.

I guess that’s all I did different, isn’t much you have to do to make your Ensis comfy that’s for sure !

I used the XS size and think that I will make the neck a bit bigger/wider/lower (?) next time.

The stripey fabrics I got from a factory store several years ago when visiting Wellington which is up the Wairarapa somewhere, though I forget the name of the place (no matter how many times I’m told, sorry Kat!).

The gray lace I got from Kat’s stash and the black lace I found at Arthur Toye’s closing down sale in January/Febuary.

Ensis totally wins!

in a tree

5 comments

  1. There is something satisfyingly cyclic about you being inspired to make these after seeing Sandra’s one, which she was inspired to make after seeing your RTW one…. :-p

Leave a Reply

