Like a skirt, but not! OOOHHH WOWW Culottes !!

group

Quintuplets !

From left: Nikki, Emma, Kat, Mel, and ME !!!

And below, Mel’s younger sister Tania who makes really cool jewellery, of which my order is on the way and I am super excited, check it out!

Some of the WSBN girls decided to make some Tania Culottes and go to the Newtown Fair in Wellingotn. So much fun ! We didn’t actually get many photos at the fair though, because we were too busy eating some awesome food and looking at all the pretty things *drools* mmMmm pretty things…

Anyway..

I made some Tania Culottes and I likes them.

I have already worn them a few times, but full skirts are always so much fun, how can you not?!

The pattern calls for a light floaty material, however I fell in love with this paisley quilting cotton that I found at Arther Toye on the closing down sale and thought that would be perfect! It doesn’t quite hang like it should such as Mel’s or Tania’s, but it is quite poofy and just makes me happy 😛

sideon

So when I was cutting this out I didn’t really take in the fact that is it a waist high skirt. Fail.

I usually only wear hip height things so I just assume that waist high doesn’t exist, but hey! Turns out it does..

They fit pretty well, however since they sit higher (hips to waist!!!!!) the hem was a lot higher than I thought it was going to be and I added this nice little detail to the bottom to make them longer. Turns out it made the hem look even better and I really enjoy it. The “detail” at the bottom is just an extra 10cm length around the hem. I cut this to the shape of the pattern so that it didn’t do anything weird for how the culottes fall.

hem

I think the below picture is probably my favourite for showing how these look. Can’t really see the pattern of the fabric, but the length is so even all the way around and you can see the fullness, and they are all kinds of perfect.
back

The pattern has a box pleat in the centre front and the centre back which is an awesome design feature for hiding the fact they are shorts, BUT THEY ARE SHORTS !!! ^-^

Adjustments I would make in the future would definitely be adding pockets. Kat did and I am super jealous. Pockets are probably the most amazing thing ever and I always get slightly frustrated that I don’t have any, you would think I would learn, but nope.

I would also take the crotch seam about 2cm lower, it’s a bit high and is a little uncomfortable sitting down. The waistband was also slightly loose so I would just use a M instead of a L or even (since I got me a booty) grade a L hip size up to a M waist size.

SHORTS

Looking through the photos that Kat (THANKS SIS!!) took for me, I realise that the little man (Drake) is in at least half of these! I reckon he could make a career from just photo bombing, and no one would mind cause he is super cute, look at the little guy !!!

fronton

Culottes were a win. I am impressed. Quite a straight forward pattern to make up as well. Thanks to Mel who I stole the following idea off 😛

Pattern: Tania Culottes size L

Fabric: 100% cotton quilting fabric paisley design from Arther Toye in Wellington. 2.5m at (I think) $7/m

Notions: Invisible zipper

Leave a Reply

