Crochet Baby Blanket – Granny squares

IMAG0663

Mid 2013 I decided I wouldn’t let my yarn collection get out of hand like my fabric had gotten, so I decided that I was only allowed to have 1 box of wool. Unfortunately I then wanted to make a few soft toy type things which required different yarn from what I had. What to make to dispose of current yarn? GRANNY SQUARES !

Image101 Granny Squares by Darla Sims

This was a good reason to use my new 101 Granny Squares book as well.

I decided it would be fun to start from the beginning of the book and work my way towards the end (assuming the patterns would get harder) so I started with Square 2

I used Patons Inca wool with a 7mm hook (~14 ply) and this took about 6 balls of wool. Inca is a mixed blend 50% Wool, 30% Acrylic, 20% Alpaca 50g balls.

The blanket turned out really well, used up heaps of yarn out of my box and gave me a new appreciation for sewing together lots of granny squares – tedious and heavy, REALLY HEAVY. I gave this to my sister in law for her new baby boy William since its a perfect cot size.

Finished Blanket

Finished Blanket

Leave a Reply

